‘Belfast’ leads Critics Choice Awards shortlist

Written by By Susan Heavey, CNN Belfast, Northern Ireland

Northern Ireland’s year of the film has been prolonged, with the shortlist of the 2019 Critics Choice Movie Awards revealed Monday.

Leading the pack is the Irish crime drama “Belfast” and Welsh favorite “Jane the Virgin,” which received four nominations apiece.

Best Picture nominees “Alien: Covenant,” “The Big Sick,” “BlacKkKlansman,” “Bohemian Rhapsody” and “Crazy Rich Asians” made up the top five.

This year’s festival theme is diversity and inclusion, organizers said, with an open call to “interpret the theme through your own lens to best express the experience of inclusion, belonging and freedom of expression for marginalized and underrepresented communities.”

The Best Actor category is fronted by Bradley Cooper (for “A Star Is Born”), Sam Rockwell (for “Vice”), Christian Bale (for “Vice”), John David Washington (for “BlacKkKlansman”) and Rami Malek (for “Bohemian Rhapsody”).

Best Actress nominees are Glenn Close (for “The Wife”), Olivia Colman (for “The Favourite”), Melissa McCarthy (for “Can You Ever Forgive Me”), Lady Gaga (for “A Star Is Born”) and Viola Davis (for “Widows”).

Best Supporting Actor nominees are Mahershala Ali (for “Green Book”), Sam Elliott (for “A Star Is Born”), Adam Driver (for “BlacKkKlansman”), Richard E. Grant (for “Can You Ever Forgive Me”) and Sam Rockwell (for “Vice”).

Best Supporting Actress nominees are Regina King (for “If Beale Street Could Talk”), Allison Janney (for “I, Tonya”), Letitia Wright (for “Black Panther”), Laurie Metcalf (for “Lady Bird”) and Stephanie Sigman (for “A Star Is Born”).


Best Director nominees are Bradley Cooper (for “A Star Is Born”), Spike Lee (for “BlacKkKlansman”), Peele (for “Get Out”), Adam McKay (for “Vice”) and Alfonso Cuaron (for “Roma”).

In a strong year for female directors, Patty Jenkins (for “Wonder Woman”) is nominated for Best Action/Adventure Director, alongside Coen brothers (“The Ballad of Buster Scruggs”), Alfonso Cuaron (“Roma”), Jordan Peele (“Get Out”) and Joe Wright (“Mary Poppins Returns”).

The Critics Choice Movie Awards will be held December 5 at Barker Hangar in Santa Monica, California.

Leave a Comment